Atlantis Online
October 23, 2021, 03:55:35 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Hunt for Lost City of Atlantis
  Home Help Arcade Gallery Links Staff List Calendar Login Register  


Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Bodhisattva  (Read 581 times)
Superhero Member
Posts: 4318

« on: August 11, 2007, 04:07:40 am »

The 10 Grounds of the Bodhisattvayana

1.   Great Joy
o   It is said that being close to enlightenment and seeing the benefit for all sentient beings, one achieves great joy, hence the name. In this bhumi the bodhisattvas practice all virtues (paramita), but especially emphasizing generosity (dana).
2.   Stainless
o   In accomplishing the second bhumi, the bodhisattva is free from the stains of immorality, therefore, this bhumi is named 'Stainless'. The emphasized virtue is moral discipline (śila).
3.   Radiant
o   The third bhumi is named 'Radiant', because, for a bodhisattva who accomplishes this bhumi, the light of Dharma is said to radiate from the bodhisattva for others. The emphasized virtue is patience (kṣanti).
4.   Luminous
o   This bhumi is called 'luminous', because it is said to be like a radiating light that fully burns that which opposes enlightenment. The emphasized virtue is vigor (virya).
5.   Very difficult to train
o   Bodhisattvas who attain this bhumi strive to help sentient beings attain maturity, and do not become emotionally involved when such beings respond negatively, both of which are difficult to do. The emphasized virtue is meditative concentration (dhyāna).
6.   Obviously Transcendent
o   "By depending on the perfection of wisdom awareness, he [the bodhisattva] does not abide in either saṃsāra or nirvāṇa, so it is 'obviously transcendent'". The emphasized virtue is wisdom (praj˝a).
7.   Gone afar
o   Particular emphasis is on the perfection of skillful means, or upaya-kaushalya, to help others.
8.   Immovable
o   The emphasized virtue is aspiration.
o   This, the 'Immovable' bhumi, is the bhumi at which one becomes able to choose his place of rebirth.
9.   Good Discriminating Wisdom
o   The emphasized virtue is power.
10.   Cloud of dharma
o   The emphasized virtue is the practice of primordial wisdom.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum
Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy